Originally Posted by Nate Sexton
You are only required to plant a point of contact on the line of play. That doesn't mean you have to run up and orient your shot along the line of play. I always mark towards the target but I don't necessarily run up towards it. If you end up short of a dogleg you just throw with the mini to the side of your foot instead of infront of it.
Yep, that works as long as your other foot is no closer to the target than the point of contact at you mini, this is where the problem lies.
Interestingly, I watched this exact infraction happen at a final round of the BSF on what is normally Hole 1 on the regulation course. Can't remember the player, but it was lead group and third shot to approach the basket. Had one of the PDGA officials marshalls standing next to me and before he threw I told him to watch as I could tell from the lie that he was going to have what is in effect a foot fault if you use tha basket as reference as opposed to the fairway. Sure enough it happened and no one said a word. I would say this is rarely called but what Ulibarri called would be the correct interpretation of the rule.
But don't be upset when someone does call it. Just because everyone has gotten away with breaking the rule does not mean a player should be vilified for upholding the rules at any time.