Originally Posted by Jeff Hemmerling
I thought your group had to determine the disc is lost before throwing your provisional. If your disc is found then the provisional throw would cost you a stroke. Just wondering...
Well, you should always ask your group if they mind if you throw a provisional off the tee box before doing so and if they are being biatches about it, then don't do it. But if they bitch and then my disc IS declared lost they better be ready for a long wait as I take my sweet time getting back to the tee, rest up from my walk and then throw my second shot. You won't see me running on a disc golf course anytime soon. And I hope that every other golfer behind me enjoys the slow down because my card was full of whiny punks...
When the PDGA went with the stroke and distance ruling they opened up a can of worms all over the speed of play rules. Nothin slows play down worse than walking backwards up the fairway to re-throw after a lost disc.