Originally Posted by Kenny B
Under the new rule, it will not count if it goes through (as long as it's witnessed as described in the rule).
"As long as it's witnessed" might create some big issues.
Just imagine some of us old fella's looking at each other with question marks on our foreheads asking if it went through the side, or not.
Let's say someone from the group before you says they saw your shot go through the side. As long as it's witnessed?
I think if it's surrounded by the inner wall of the basket, it's in, and it should count. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
I don't like the idea of it counting, but it would remove the doubt.
There is no comparison to the few times a putt actually goes through the cage and sticks, and the "normal" putts.