Originally Posted by Kenny B
So, I recieved my PDGA registration package for 2011 and included was the new rule book. Here is a rule change that I wondered what people thought about...
803.13 Holing Out:
B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc observed by two or more players of the group or an official to have entered the target below the top of the tray or abve the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.
And in the Summary of Rules Changes section:
The definition of holing out has been tightened up a bit. A putt that sticks in the side of the tray, or hangs outside the tray from one of the nubs, no longer counts.
I agree with this rule. It takes away some of the luck factor involved with slipping in the sides, or sticking into the tray, which, was not a good throw to begin with.
As far as the ACE debate goes, the rule has the covered Gawain - "A disc observed by two or more players of the group or an official to have entered the target below the top of the tray or abve the bottom of the chain support is not holed out..." simple: if they didn't see it go in through the sides or the top, then they can't take it away from you.
I also appreciate this rule for when it comes to folks slapping the chains while holding the disc in their hands...that is not holing out! Let go of the disc if you want it to count.
Good work PDGA.