Originally Posted by Rideout
I don't understand why we get to choose between two different lies.
We are given 30cm behind our lie (or about 1/4" less than 1 foot, 11 3/4"). Why does the player get to choose if the 30cm starts from the front or the back of the disc he/she threw? Does any other sport allow such a choice to be made by the player?
It seems to me that the lie should always be calculated from the front of the thown disc, yet there is no place in the rules (at least, I couldn't find it anywhere) that establishes this.
I think a player that chooses to leave their thrown disc on the ground as their lie must keep their stance for the next shot within 30cm of the front of disc, not the back. Yet, it seems to be widely accepted to not even question why we have two acceptable lies to choose from.
You read an article with this diagram in it and THAT'S your comment? Let alone the insane notions about thrown discs needing to be perfectly FLAT on the ground to be considered 'on the playing surface' and eligible to be used as your marker and THIS is what binds your britches?
I had three rules 'discussions' at last weekend's event at Horning's Hideout. One on having all of your support points on the teeing surface, one on the line of play behind your mini marker going to the wrong side of the mando and the last one about lifting the foot on the line of play off the ground before throwing from a backstance. These rules get abused all of the time without making weird rule extrapolations to further complicate the rules that we already play under.
But the real bitch of the whole thing is the very real problem of having 'official rules' NOT be in a printed format that can be carried on the course. First the problem was with the rulebook and the competition manual being separate, but to now include the Rules Q&As AND the 'Rules School' from the PDGA forum that STILL won't let me post, I'm gonna have to call BS on the whole thing and say F the rules!
Now I'm gonna have to change my stupid signature...