Originally Posted by Chuck Kennedy
Except with the 2m rule, you don't have a lie until you apply the 2m rule to establish one. Then, you have a choice regarding wheter to play it where you can then apply the unplayable rule and rethrow. That is not a double penalty because you chose the unplayable when you could have played from the 2m lie without double penalty.
Wouldn't the lie be in the tree? And if I step out on that branch... Sounds like an unsafe lie to me.
I'll bet that this whole controversy is why so many TDs elect not to use the 2 meter rule. Chuck, you made me read the rules, and I think your interpretation is correct. And if I were a TD, I would not be using the 2 meter rule. Now my head hurts...