Originally Posted by T-Bird
At our league last night @ Cascade we had a CTP on 17.
17 has a left mando and an OB behind the basket.
2 incidents for discussion:
1 player missed the mando and on his 2nd tee shot he parked it.
Another player went OB past the basket but, by rule, when his disc was placed 1 meter in from where he went out he was CTP.
I say that since each player was no longer throwing their 2nd shot it was not a valid CTP.
On a side note the actual CTP failed to convert his birdie putt which just seems wrong as well.
Are there any rules regarding CTP's? Or is it up to the TD's to establish guidelines for each event?
There are no standardized rules for CTP. It is up to the TD.
IMO, thrower #1 has no claim to the CTP because he did not throw a valid shot (missed mando). If there was no CTP involved, he wouldn't be able to play from there, so why should he if there is a CTP in play? However, the second thrower does have a valid claim to the CTP prize. Throwing OB can be a valid strategy in some situations, knowing that you can come in one meter and have a shot at a 3P. The TD should explicitly state that OB shots can't be considered. If he did not, this was a valid CTP.