Originally Posted by SMOKIN JOE
being a pdga official you must maintain ballance after it comes to rest ,, so yes you could fall forward well after the disc comes to rest and still be a foul,
also if it hits the basket and rolls towards o.b. over a hill and you run after it to save it's still a foul,the disc has not come to rest, I saw this last year at whistlers on 13 ,someone was atop the basket putting downhill ,missed the putt and started walking down the hill after it,that should have been a violation , don't know if called,but no you can't chase after your rolling putt
Am I the only one who is unnerved by this statement? Claiming status as a PDGA official and then misinterpreting/misreading the rules (especially on one of the most common infractions a player can commit) makes me wonder about the difficulty of becoming an official official. Joe, the rules say not a thing about the status of the disc, only the status of a player's balance prior to moving beyond their lie.
I called my first ever rules violation last weekend at the LCO- dude was putting uphill and made his 8-footer, but he did the Three Stooges windmilling arms and fell forward. Two of us immediately called the falling putt, only to have to spend 5 minutes debating with the rest of the card about this whole "disc coming to rest" BS.
The three yahoos only conceded the argument when they saw me pulling my rulebook out of my bag. Their attitude was like "don't brandish that thing at me!" as if it was a crucifix and they were vampires. It was if the rulebook is some poisonous artifact you should never touch.
He missed his re-putt. Very painful to watch, but rules are rules. (Please excuse the personal anecdote, but I felt it was applicable in this case.)