Northwest Disc Golf News Forums

Go Back   Northwest Disc Golf News Forums > Disc Golf Topics > DG Equipment
Register Site Rules FAQ Members List Arcade Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old January 27th, 2010, 05:09 PM
General Scales
Join Date:
May 1st, 2009
Location:
Spokane Valley Washington
Posts:
1,531
Default Massive list of discs for sale...

So I was digging around on the net trying to find any remaining Z MRV's that are residing amongst the ether of peoples discs. Came across this very, very interesting list of discs. Not all disc golf discs but tons of Frisbee's and other such things. Two questions popped into my head. One, has anybody on this forum ever heard of or ordered anything from this guy? Can he be trusted to actually have everything he says he does? Two, does anybody have a pic of the rim of a MRV, including tech specs?

Here's a link to the site. Would love some feedback before I go and drop money and a prayer on this guy.

Thanks,
Stu

http://home.att.net/~wil.west/green.html
________________________________________________________________________
"Honest work is for the downtrodden and the Polish"
Cleveland Brown
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 27th, 2010, 05:46 PM
Adam Schneider
Join Date:
August 27th, 2008
Location:
SE Portland
Posts:
3,013
Default

"Last updated 2/19/9"?
________________________________________________________________________
Oregon disc golf map
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 27th, 2010, 07:36 PM
TreeLove
Join Date:
August 27th, 2008
Location:
Portland
Posts:
2,222
Default

Cool collection.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 27th, 2010, 08:48 PM
Cold Steel
Join Date:
March 17th, 2009
Location:
Seattle
Posts:
120
Default

not much help, but that collection has been out there for a couple years. I would definitely verify before trusting.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 27th, 2010, 11:16 PM
CarlitosBonitos
Join Date:
November 12th, 2008
Location:
Newberg
Posts:
439
Default Why is every disc green

Seriously someone monopolized green discs? I have never heard of such a thing....
________________________________________________________________________
Future's so bright, I gotta wear shades.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 28th, 2010, 12:07 AM
murray the brit
Join Date:
November 15th, 2008
Posts:
223
Default

hay General Scales looks like there is going to a fight on on are hands here i to am a Z MRV man
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 28th, 2010, 04:31 AM
DiscGolfOregon3
Join Date:
December 2nd, 2009
Location:
Roseburg, Oregon
Posts:
182
Exclamation

WOW . . . just, wow!

what a collection . . .

-Derek

www.DiscGolfOregon.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 28th, 2010, 09:33 AM
snap7times
Join Date:
September 4th, 2008
Posts:
2,683
Default

i emailed him... see if i get a response...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 29th, 2010, 01:45 PM
snap7times
Join Date:
September 4th, 2008
Posts:
2,683
Default

emailed him, his email was wrong on the webstie but used common sense... see what hapens next
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 29th, 2010, 02:12 PM
General Scales
Join Date:
May 1st, 2009
Location:
Spokane Valley Washington
Posts:
1,531
Default

Well I've definitely put in an email or two about some of the things on there. Lets see how long it takes this guy to respond to the letter, if it isn't a giant scam
________________________________________________________________________
"Honest work is for the downtrodden and the Polish"
Cleveland Brown
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 29th, 2010, 05:32 PM
snap7times
Join Date:
September 4th, 2008
Posts:
2,683
Default

he replied, asked for the bin number so he could find it... see what next
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 29th, 2010, 07:20 PM
KCrabtree
Join Date:
October 14th, 2009
Posts:
62
Default

Wil West is from huntington beach. The memorial used to be dedicated to his brother, known as, the "Bob West Memorial" He's been around for a long time, so i'm sure he's trustworthy.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 29th, 2010, 07:36 PM
ChUcK
Join Date:
March 25th, 2009
Posts:
699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCrabtree View Post
He's been around for a long time, so i'm sure he's trustworthy.
At the risk of sounding like Spock, that is not a logical conclusion. Don King has been around quite some time also.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 29th, 2010, 07:51 PM
DMajor
Join Date:
July 22nd, 2009
Location:
Redmond WA
Posts:
701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChUcK View Post
At the risk of sounding like Spock, that is not a logical conclusion. Don King has been around quite some time also.

Don King sells discs?
________________________________________________________________________
Read this ^
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 29th, 2010, 08:03 PM
ChUcK
Join Date:
March 25th, 2009
Posts:
699
Default

Maybe. If he does, don't trust him.

I get the feeling that this guy KC mentioned is legit. That spreadsheet says to me "I took 18,000 man hours to complete. Also, I was built by someone with earnest yet meager computing skills."

That tells me the dude is probably legit. I wouldn't send him money, but if I was ever in his neck of the woods I'd check the collection out and probably drop a Benjamin. Besides, the Pony Express stopped running like 5 years ago, at least.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old January 29th, 2010, 08:11 PM
KCrabtree
Join Date:
October 14th, 2009
Posts:
62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChUcK View Post
At the risk of sounding like Spock, that is not a logical conclusion. Don King has been around quite some time also.

Ok, well i know Wil so i should of said something more like, he is trustworthy.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old January 30th, 2010, 12:27 AM
General Scales
Join Date:
May 1st, 2009
Location:
Spokane Valley Washington
Posts:
1,531
Default

if hes really trustworthy hes gonna get a lot of cash in the next few months
________________________________________________________________________
"Honest work is for the downtrodden and the Polish"
Cleveland Brown
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old January 30th, 2010, 09:47 AM
ChUcK
Join Date:
March 25th, 2009
Posts:
699
Default

let us know how it turns out.

edit: I just spent about an hour searching through his collection, and it appears to be like 10% good stuff, and 90% crap that was bought because it was green and frisbee-shaped. In that 10% there are some serious gems, though! He even has a Lat64 disc, a sparkle opto core. That one was the least green disc I saw.

Last edited by ChUcK; January 30th, 2010 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 31st, 2010, 04:28 PM
snap7times
Join Date:
September 4th, 2008
Posts:
2,683
Default

he gave me his address where to send money... who wouldnt hehe... but seems legit and says he raising the prices next month on the gems maybe
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 31st, 2010, 09:26 PM
Magilla
Join Date:
August 28th, 2008
Location:
Sunriver, Or
Posts:
965
Default

Wil is VERY trustworthy....Ive known him nearly nearly 20yrs.
He produced the 1st DiscGolf Trading cards (Discards) and is a long time local from Huntington Beach.
You can spend your money with confidence on his collection, which I would venture to say is quite a bit more extensive than what he has posted.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.