The one thing that makes this a tougher than usual call is the fact that 2 discs were lost and being looked for at the same time. It is really hard to use the 'internal timer' when the first disc is found and that player throws his next shot before the 2nd disc is either found or declared lost.
This all happened on hole 5 and the group came around to where I was watching the play from tee pad 9. My advice to the card in deciding the ruling for themselves (I was already bitter about a ruling on the previous day) was "Did the second player get the FULL 3 minutes of everybody looking for his disc or was he shorted by the fact that the first player found his disc and took his next shot?" Two of the three players didn't think that he did. Not being there to time it made me not want to make the call without the input of the group. The really nice thing that I appreciated was that since we were next to one of the bathrooms the player in question went to use the facilities to allow the rest of the group to vote without him present.
On Saturday I was spotting on the new longer hole 13 pin placement that was surrounded by very tall grass. Each time that we looked for a disc I noted on my watch when the 3 minutes started (even though I started looking before the groups usually made their way up the fairway). I only had to call the 3 minutes twice all day.
And yes Flash, I DID mention the shule on hole 5 on Sunday and the suggestion that ANY shot into those bushes be immediately followed by a provisional shot to save time in case the disc was lost.
It is Treelove's post that I MOST agree with however.
Any idea that the score should've been other than a 4 or a 6p is insane. A player should always play a provisional throw if the ruling is in question. And as long as you play both shots all the way out you shouldn't be penalized for the shots that are determined to be the ones NOT used for the hole score.
My TD tenure may be coming to an end very soon...