I've got a bet going with a buddy and need some clarification.
Do I always have the option to re-tee? even if I don't go out of bounds or miss a mando. I read it as Yes you can from this rule, and he read it as no.
803.06 Optional Rethrow
At any time, a player may elect to rethrow from the previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, from an approximate lie as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.
Fear of any kind is the number one enemy of all golfers regardless of ball-striking and shot-making capabilities.
Here's one tricky thing about re-teeing to consider. If you shank a drive down the hill deep in the woods, you need to decide right then if you are going to abandon the shot and officially re-tee or call a provisional and throw off the tee again in the event your disc is lost (or maybe OB). The tricky part if you call the provisional is if you find the disc and it's so nasty that you want to re-tee, you cannot use the provisional. You must go back to the tee and throw again. If your disc is actually lost (or OB), you must use your provisional throw.