Originally Posted by gmason1
General- Im not clear on the rules for false start but Seems to me that shouldnt have been your fault? if the start horn was blasted and you threw it shouldnt count against you or constitute a re-throw? i would be really upset if the horn blew, I threw and ace and then had to re-throw at my expense when it wasnt my bad? I even heard of one person complaining they had to take an extra stroke on throw 1 because of the early horn? if throws are early in a situation like this cant you just play the discs where they landed once the official horn is blown? Seems like the TD should be the ones ruling on this particular event and it seemed like it was being handled group by group rather than being addressed by the TD as a whole what the penalites would be..
The issue as I understand with a false (or early) start is that everyone on the course is to proceed to their starting hole and re-throw. It'd be a bigger nuisance on an ace run for sure. The good thing was that it wouldn't of had any effect on my score for the tournament. I took myself out with out of bounds and lost discs. I do think that this a rule that needs to be looked over by the PDGA. This could ruin a brilliant set of throws on a difficult hole. Good example of this would be starting out on Farragut D.B.D hole 18. Get a birdie on it (which would be monumental considering the distance and difficulty of the hole). Then find out you have to walk back to the pad and start over because of a false start. Thats a hole where I would argue with the person controlling the horn because the chances of birding that hole back to back are small at best.
All in all however, I had a great time at the tournament.