Originally Posted by Pizzel
The first scenario is seems "cut and dry": The mando is not in play.
The second scenario is very tricky. I think the PDGA rules suggest that the mando is only in play if it was stated by the TD during the players meeting, if it is marked on a course map or scorecard provided by the TD, or if it is stated on a tee sign.
Remember, you can always take a provisional if you are unsure of any rules issue and take it up with a TD at the end of the round.
Actually, this points to one of the reasons why I prefer to play tournaments like these. Thinking back, I've been hosed a couple of times in similar situations (once at Timber). The lesson I've learned is don't be intimidated by the person on your course who "knows the course and how it's supposed to be played" - take a provisional and work it out later.