Originally Posted by Scott
Here's a hypothetical question....
Say a course has a mando on a particular hole. It's not marked, but use of the mando is "common knowledge" among those who frequent the course. During a PDGA tournament, the TD does NOT make mention of this mando on a particular hole. Is the mando in play?
Same scenario, but this time the mando is actually marked. Does that make a difference? If the TD does not mention it, is it ever in play?
The same question could be asked for OB lines.
The first scenario is seems "cut and dry": The mando is not in play.
The second scenario is very tricky. I think the PDGA rules suggest that the mando is only in play if it was stated by the TD during the players meeting, if it is marked on a course map or scorecard provided by the TD, or if it is stated on a tee sign.
Remember, you can always take a provisional if you are unsure of any rules issue and take it up with a TD at the end of the round.