Originally Posted by LegoRules
From the PDGA website:
1.3 Withdraws and Refunds
G. These criteria may be relaxed at the discretion of the Tournament Director.
By rule it is up to the TD to follow the PDGA rule if he/she wishes. It sure helps as a backup, if needed.....but the Quoted section allows a TD to treat this rule more as a guideline and be a bit more relaxed in certain cases.
In a case such as a verifiable injury/illness, etc.....a full refund would be certainly justifiable. Unless of course the TD wanted to be an ASS....