Originally Posted by bryan_luoma
Bummer, I hate to see this happen. This IS a tricky ruling.
After reading 803.01 b and 803.13 it is still unclear to me how to score this.
What if the player did not realize he/she inadvertently failed to hole out until many holes later?
numActualThrows (on said hole only) + 2, done?
999 at TDs discretion?
well you quoted the holing out rules. if you figured out that you didnt hole out. as long it was inadvertent, the hole is considered complete. So that being said, hole 12 was completed the second i tee'd off on hole 13. and then i played hole 13 horribly wrong. throwing 3 times, which would have counted, and yes i should have just holed out at that point... but i didnt because i feared being completely disqualified. I misplayed hole 13, and i completed the hole using 7 strokes, which were out of order which is why it was a misplayed hole. this is where im getting the 7 strokes and +2p for misplaying the hole. I completed hole 12 according to the rules under 803.13 A. (2). and despite how i misplayed the next hole (13), i still completed it in seven strokes, though they were not in order, which led to my penalty under rule 801.04 D. (closest thing i could find to what happened) which is a +2 stroke penalty for misplaying the hole... haa.
The only thing that i was concerned about at that point was completing both holes, so a 999's was avoided. i dont see, in any of these circumstances, and reason for a complete disqualification for what i did.