Originally Posted by PhilStomp
There was a lot of talk about one players miss play.
He was cool with however it was ruled (and that is very cool) but he wanted to understand just how the official rules would handle the miss play.
I was just sitting to the side and could not gather exactly what happen but I too am interested.
Could someone, please, detail the miss play event?
I believe I heard Jeff say that he was going to look into it.
Jeff, would you, please, pass on your findings.
I was glad to see how it was all handled.
All parties that I was listening to, seem to be most interested in getting it right. Level headed, no yelling and no blaming.
To the gentleman who miss played the hole.
Sorry about that but I felt that you handled it very well.
i appriciate that. it was me. unfortunately.
but here is how it was actually played (leaving out rules)
shot one: up to hole 12 about 25-30' long
shot two: hits front basket and drops directly below basket
--- a small argument about courtesy between myself and another player on the card---
we collect scores, i forgot at this point who was collecting the scores, i think it might have been me. i was recorded for a '3'
all tee off hole 13-
shot three: tee off hole 13, attempted roller that hits early tree.
shot four: eagle upshot that his the big fir tree 100' short of the basket up the hill
shot six: putter upshot to the basket.
then, i realized i had just thrown one of my two putters... and the other was missing. i turned back to see it lying below the basket.
i then turned back to my group, informing them of my folly, as to not aquire anymore penalty than needed. briefly discussed what i should do as to remedy the situation. we agreed that i did not play out the hole, and needed to do so. and i would be assessed a practice stroke penalty for every shot that i took before finishing out the hole previous.
then i re-teed
shot seven: roller that actually worked this time!
shot eight: putter upshot under the basket
shot nine: in the bucket.
1,2 shots on hole 12
1,2,3 shots on hole 13 before realizing i didnt hole out, (i did not hole out hole 13 the first time through lol)
1 shot go back and finish off hole 12
then 1, 2, 3 shots to finish out hole 13.
So you tell me, whats to do with the score?
i have my honest opinion. , but id like to hear what some more qualified and seasoned players would rule this as. and any advice from anyone would be greatly appreciated as to avoid this whole situation in the future. but as brody miller pointed out to me "guess you wont do that ever again"
i want to sincerely thank Ashley Petersen and Jeff Hagerty for putting on an amazing event and for dealing with this whole situation. i know it must have caused more work but i really do appreciate your willingness to talk with me and help me better understand this crazy game we love to play.
-Xander Waibel #41673