Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How far should a (woman) beginner be able to throw?

Hi all!
    This question is regarding tee-off drives.

How far did you throw when you first started and did you use lower weight disc at first or did you "disc down" after a bit of trial and error?

Here is my history with distance as a beginner:

I have been playing disc golf for about three months. At first I was horrible because I was trying to throw like when I used to play "catch" Frisbee and I didn't move at all really, just threw with my arm. It was taking me about 6-8 throws to get to the basket. I was (maybe) getting about 30-50 feet per throw.

I finally started to figure out that I had to move (use my hips etc...) and my distance increased a bit, by maybe 10ft. or so...not a lot.

Then I started throwing side-arm (fore-arm) and added a little bit of a run-up and lunge into the mix. I started getting really good consistent flights and distances of about 90-115 feet. This makes me happy, as I can now get to most baskets within 3-4 throws.

Now I have started working on my backhand and it is getting much better, and although it is still weaker than my sidearm throw, I feel like eventually I'll get the hang of it.

All my discs are in the 175g range because we bought all our discs locally and stores never seem to stock lower weight discs. I did find a 145g SHARK and bought that and it seems like I can throw it a lot farther!!!

I see that a lot of you use lower weight discs, so I think I might try to disc down a bit and see if that helps with distance.

What was your experience and how far do (non-pro) women eventually end up throwing?

well... even tho you're asking about non-pros... i'm gonna answer anyway. that's just how i roll.

i would say as you're creeping over 100 feet you should be really happy with that.