2011 Rules Comments: Holing Out Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #76
    leave the wedgies in your pantalones

    I for one should be like Jordan and hate this rule.
    I have a 137 gram Omega SS from Ice Bowl '98 that has at least 10 (closer to 20) outer basket wedgies.
    I've had 2 or 3 go all the way through into the basket. I saw an ace at Crystal Mt. by Jerry Bailey, that wedged almost underneath an old Ray Seicks wooden frame basket. It was kinda funny watching him run down the mountain to get it before it sprung out.
    From an old timers perspective, it's about frickin' time!
    Most of my wedgies are low putts and I feel weird mojo accepting them.
    Jordan, quit crying, you are a great putter!
    You don't need that kind of luck.
    He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
    - Anonymous

    Comment


    • #77
      I also like the rule and it is about time. Lets face it if they made the baskets correct we would not even have this rule or this thread. The fact that a disc could even come to reset in the side of the basket is a bad basket design, however when they started making baskets the disc of choice was larger then the ones we throw today.

      Making the rule is necessary to make compliant all the baskets on the thousands of courses around the world with the new basket standards. A disc stuck in the side should be no better then one that hits the side and rolls 20 feet away. Both should require a throw to finish the hole. I am still confused on how this rule change makes it more confusing to rule a shot as finishing the hole!

      Jub, in my years of ball golf I have seen far more balls hit the pole or flag and ricochet off the green as apposed to dropping into the cup.
      PDGA #25296
      Stumptown #34

      Comment


      • #78
        Booooo!

        Originally posted by Flatroc View Post
        You don't need that kind of luck.
        Doesn't mean it isn't a dumb rule.

        Hath this whole world been mired in madness?
        Remain ye men of faculty complete,
        Of full arithmetic and prudence fair,
        Attending to our noble bond and contract?
        Or does here stand the last remaining man
        To give a fig for rules and order yet,
        No noble savage, but a stave unbroken
        Who loves the law and bids it no misdeed.
        Iíll not be bent to lawlessness. Mark it nought, if we be men of honour.

        Comment


        • #79
          I would like to see a wedgie at Horning's Hideout. That would require a rulebook for sure.
          Nihilists! F@#$ me. I mean, say what you like about the tenets of National Socialism, Dude, at least it's an ethos.

          Comment


          • #80
            Originally posted by Flash View Post
            Jub, in my years of ball golf I have seen far more balls hit the pole or flag and ricochet off the green as apposed to dropping into the cup.
            That is the other option and yes it does happen more often. My point was luck has as much to do with it as skill does.
            The old sayinfg I'd rather be lucky(good) then good(lucky)
            rewindb.com

            Comment


            • #81
              For the early basket designs where larger diameter discs were used, I also don't believe they ever thought they would "need" a maximum flexibility spec. Not allowing discs to be more flexible than a certain amount would be another, but even less popular, way to reduce the chance for wedgies.

              Comment


              • #82
                been there done this

                Originally posted by Sausage Fingers View Post
                I've played with someone who could putt the shit out of those through the cage putts with an amazingly floppy putter. 15-25 feet away, thrown hard and flat at below the rim height and they go all the way through the cage and stay in the basket.

                Still not in favor of the new rule, and i love me some rules...

                It counts if it goes through.
                FWIW, most of mine have been forehand Annie Oakley slams.
                So, what else you got bud?
                What's dumb about a low putt that you end up counting?
                Do I remember you using an avatar or profile pic that had a "NO LOW PUTTS" symbol or something similar?
                Maybe market a new decal with a disc stuck in the side of the cage with the big slash line through it. NO WEDGIES!
                On the other hand, maybe you and I could talk the Whistlers Misfit's to allow wedgies at the WBDS next year.
                He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
                - Anonymous

                Comment


                • #83
                  Originally posted by Flatroc View Post
                  It counts if it goes through.
                  FWIW, most of mine have been forehand Annie Oakley slams.
                  So, what else you got bud?
                  What's dumb about a low putt that you end up counting?
                  Do I remember you using an avatar or profile pic that had a "NO LOW PUTTS" symbol or something similar?
                  Maybe market a new decal with a disc stuck in the side of the cage with the big slash line through it. NO WEDGIES!
                  On the other hand, maybe you and I could talk the Whistlers Misfit's to allow wedgies at the WBDS next year.
                  Under the new rule, it will not count if it goes through (as long as it's witnessed as described in the rule).

                  Comment


                  • #84
                    Allow wedgies...

                    ...or the alien gets it!
                    The Corporate Empire is NOT a Constitutional Republic...
                    ...but it plays one on TV.

                    Comment


                    • #85
                      video cameras on every hole

                      Originally posted by Kenny B View Post
                      Under the new rule, it will not count if it goes through (as long as it's witnessed as described in the rule).
                      "As long as it's witnessed" might create some big issues.
                      Just imagine some of us old fella's looking at each other with question marks on our foreheads asking if it went through the side, or not.
                      Let's say someone from the group before you says they saw your shot go through the side. As long as it's witnessed?
                      I think if it's surrounded by the inner wall of the basket, it's in, and it should count. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      I don't like the idea of it counting, but it would remove the doubt.
                      There is no comparison to the few times a putt actually goes through the cage and sticks, and the "normal" putts.
                      He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
                      - Anonymous

                      Comment


                      • #86
                        The new 2011 rules are now posted on the PDGA site: http://www.pdga.com/rules

                        803.05 and 803.13 have the most changes.
                        Last edited by Chuck Kennedy; December 17th, 2010, 01:57 PM.

                        Comment


                        • #87
                          Originally posted by Ol' Bob View Post
                          Allow wedgies...

                          ...or the alien gets it!
                          He already ate my disc!

                          Comment


                          • #88
                            Originally posted by Kenny B View Post
                            He already ate my disc!
                            So, that's why they're here!
                            The Corporate Empire is NOT a Constitutional Republic...
                            ...but it plays one on TV.

                            Comment


                            • #89
                              Originally posted by DMajor View Post
                              Hmmm, I've played my fair share of disc golf and never seen a drive or upshot stick in the side of the cage. Probably seen atleast a dozen or two putts stick.
                              Check out my avatar. This was an Ace. (Or WAS an Ace).
                              Board Member of the West Sound Disc Golf Association
                              Like us on Facebook! Facebook.com/WSDGA

                              Comment

                              Announcement Announcement Module
                              Collapse
                              No announcement yet.
                              Working...
                              X