X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2009 Disc Golf World Championships

I am going to Worlds for the first time in my career of playing disc golf. I have heard about the worlds event since the first year I started playing but could never seem to make it happen. There was always work, school or family that prevented me from going. I almost did not make it this year either but with constant reminders from Mr. Hagerty and the graces of my boss at work I was able to get the mandatory week of vacation switched from the week after the fourth to the last week in July for Worlds.

This year the worlds is in Kansas City and people that attended the 2003 Amateur World Championships still comment about worlds in Kansas City. I knew that if I was going to make it to a worlds event this is the one to make. The courses are what people are excited about and from the preview of the courses that I have seen I can see why, compared to the worlds courses used in the past few years, especially for the Amateurs, theses course will test not only accuracy but distance and course management.

The reason why I am writing is to know why more people are not going from Oregon. I would have expected more Pro players to make the journey given the location and courses being used for the competition.

I see that we have Six Pros from Oregon going: Dave Feldberg, Avery Jenkins, Ben Van Dusen, Kirk McAllister, Melody King and Jeff Hagerty.

On the Am side we have 5 going: Peter Belizi, Jason McGrew, Kevin Watson, Terry Schuler, and myself.

See you guys in KC!!!!
    PDGA #25296
    Stumptown #34

Originally posted by Flash View Post