Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Throwing Midrange discs

Hey guys,
    I am relatively new to the sport, less than a yr playing. I can throw my drivers around 300ft. My midrange discs however, don't go so well. Anyone have any tips on grip for mid range discs. i have really long fingers so gripping these discs with shallow ridges is a challenge. So far my 2 mid range discs are KC pro Roc, and Esp Buzz.
    When I throw these discs I get a lot of flutter upon release, and sometimes they turn right over. Obviously i am overpowering these discs. Is there a tip to throwing so that they come out of my hand better and don't flutter, but float?

I am by far an expert, but imho just work on your arm swing and your release and it will come over time.
    All I want for Christmas is Sharpies and Rit Dye!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Trozzle!!! View Post
      I am by far an expert, but imho just work on your arm swing and your release and it will come over time.
      So Trozzle, with mid range discs is it more about arm swing then wrist snap? Maybe I'm treating these discs too much like a distance driver, and not gently releasing them. Any tips on grip? do you use all 4 fingers underneath the ridge?, or just 3? I usually put my forefinger out and hold my middle and ring finger out like a fan grip.

Comment

i personnaly do whats called the power grip, all 4 fingers tightly gripped under the rim. Arm power and snap are both still very important, it just depends on the distance you are throwing. I have been playing for 6 yrs or so. I have only been working on a backhand midrange shot for a couple years. So, ont take my advice as the best advice, just get out and practice more. Thats the best thing you can do
        All I want for Christmas is Sharpies and Rit Dye!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Swampthing View Post
          Obviously i am overpowering these discs.