Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dear Dr. Disc Golf

Dear Dr. Disc Golf

I find myself in a bit of depression lately and I don't know what to do. Getting better is a good thing, right? I have been playing for 2 1/2 years now and getting better all the time. I think! I hear it at every tournament, every casual round, I feel it when I'm out practicing. Ask the guys on my card at Tuesday Two's, Lunchtime League, GNO, UVC, Eugene Celebration. "Great pull, Bob", "Wow, you have soooooo much more distance than you did last year", "Good snap", "Perfect shot selection", on and on and on. I have to agree, I have stepped up my game. A year ago, I threw short, straight, fade to the left drives, and that was my game. I now have another 50 ft. on my drive and am throwing hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, short forehand flicks. I am sooooooooo much better! Last year I resigned myself to the fact that I was BOB. I waited my turn on the box as the last thrower. This year, I still find myself there but not ALWAYS. I move up in the order, sometimes taking the pad. Woohoooo! I AM getting better! Right?

So, why am I depressed? My scores are going UP, my PDGA rating going DOWN.

What do I do? Is there hope? Have others experienced the same?

Signed:
    Depressed in Milwaukie

keep on keepin' on Bob!
    A bad day on the golf course is better than a good day at work!

Comment

Don't look at the ratings. You are learning new shots and probably going for shots you wouldn't have last year. As your range of throws grows, so will your scores for a time.
      Then- they shall fall and your rating increase.
      My only concern... you're practicing all those new shots- are you keeping up on your putting practice?
      Oh, that and I hope you've figured out a way to stop aging. I don't think that helps.

Comment

Ah, tournament play....