Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• REI Disc Golf Clinic

Hello fellow disc golfers,

I'm teaching a one hour clinic (Disc Golf 101) on the basics of disc golf for REI. I'm an amateur who's not very good. So I covet your suggestions. I'm just going for the most basic information. For complete beginners who are interested in disc golf but don't know the what, where, and (very briefly) how. So what's important? What goals should I set for my fortyish minutes of talking (leaving some time for questions)? How do I get people started without overwhelming them with tech and jargon? And of course I need some good disc golf jokes.

Thanks in advance for anything,

Evan

P.S. - The clinic is free, at the downtown Portland store, on July 8th in the evening (exact time still tbd but probably 6:30pm)

Flat flip files straight;
    Tilted flip curves!
    Experiment!
    "I love it when a plan comes together" -John 'Hannibal' Smith

Comment

Most importantly, tell them to start out with putters and midranges. If they must throw drivers, lighter weights will be better for most beginners.
      Oregon disc golf map

Comment

thanks Adam

Originally posted by Adam Schneider View Post
        Most importantly, tell them to start out with putters and midranges. If they must throw drivers, lighter weights will be better for most beginners.
        Thanks for making that point. I've only recently realized that I'm throwing discs that are too heavy and of a speed level that I can't really produce. I can throw a 170 destroyer a ways but I can throw a 165 beast further with more control.

On that note...do you know if the distances at Timber Lin park are accurate?

Evan

Comment

Originally posted by Adam Schneider View Post
          QFT. I'd also recommend starting out with DX plastic if they can...easier to throw and less of a hit when it's inevitably lost. Though, if going through REI, I don't even know if they sell DX....