Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sudden Valley Resident Perspective

Greetings!

I am a Sudden Valley Resident. I've owned here for several years. I also frequent Mossy Roc recreationally.

I'd like to take this opportunity to fill you guys in--from a resident perspective--and to describe some of the issues that led to the closing of Mossy Roc to non-HOA Members (the HOA is referred to SVCA, Sudden Valley Community Association).

First of all there are liability issues. Simply put, General Management felt that without any means to assure that users of Mossy Roc would not hold the Association liable for injuries/personal damage, the only way to protect residents from financial liability was to keep non-residents off the property--it's as simple as that. Someone breaks a leg? We are potentially liable for that. That essentially means that you folks using the property could potentially cost the residents a lot of money simply by letting you use the property. I don't know about you, but I'm not really keen on the idea of paying to let other people use our property, and that liability pretty much does that. It is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt out there. It would eventually happen, and General Management knew it.

In addition, one of the golfers was collecting money (tournament fees) from other users to use our property--this same person had been ejected from property in South Carolina for doing the same thing, essentially charging use fees for land he didn't even own.