X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible new course in Lakeview - 1st one in Lake County

Hey all you plastic flatballers, long time...

Rumours of my demise are/were only somewhat exaggerated. I've been hiding out down in the "Oregon Outback" since 2005. Needless to say, there isn't much (anything) in the way of disc golf within a hundred miles from Lakeview.

I hope to change that soon.

I've been meeting with the Bullard Canyon Planning Committee (an offshoot of the Lakeview Town Council) and have proposed the addition of a disc golf course in the Bullard Canyon area (directly across from the newly installed gun range.)

Bullard Canyon is just a mile or two outside of town limits and offers over 2200 acres of wild, somewhat rough, hilly terrain that is just begging for a couple disc golf courses. This endeavor, as anyone who has ever approached any government body to get a course installed, is often a tedious and somewhat lengthy process, however things are finally beginning to fall into place.

My first proposal was rejected (Booth State Park) by the OPRD. Second proposal went to the Town of Lakeview and is currently being considered (favorably.) In fact, I've been given the go-ahead to lay out the inital 9 hole design. The intial 9 holes will be designed with beginning players in mind, as most of Lakeview has never even heard of disc golf. Course will be relatively short but still quite technical, with lots of terrain variation and a few water holes (hole 3 tees from atop the dam.)

With the help of Medford disc golfer, Bob Chard, the inital course has been laid out and a map of the design is being presented to the BC Planning Committee this week.