Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Harmony/Three Creeks Park (Northern Clackamas County)

Some of you may know that I've been hassling the planning folks at Clackamas County for a couple of years now, wondering about the possibility of a disc golf course in a small part of the 100-acre swath of undeveloped land between SE 82nd Ave., Harmony Road, and Hwy. 224, just east of Milwaukie. (map)

There's still no real news one way or the other, but here's the latest e-mail from Michelle Healy, Senior Planner for the North Clackamas Parks & Recreation District:

We are slow, but working. Right now we are going out and
    talking to different groups about the vision process. We're planning to
    have our first public meeting at the end of Feb. One of the ideas that
    we will include in the public discussion is a disc golf course. :-)

That is it at the moment, but I will definitely let you know about the
    meetings.

So, end of February (maybe?)... mark your calendars, we need a big turnout from local DGers. Ideally ones from Clackamas County, and even better if they've got cute disc golfing kids in tow.

Once they get a firm date for a public meeting, we ought to hash over some talking points for those who plan to attend. (One of my favorites is that for us Southeasterners, it's much more environmentally friendly to be able to play at a course close to town, as opposed to driving 20 miles away; they've been very big on sustainability in their "visioning" process.)
    Oregon disc golf map

As a new resident/homeowner in SE Portland I will do my best to attend. I'm not in Clackamas but I feel pretty darn close! Make sure to add the point that it will draw people from other counties, to spend money at surrounding businesses of course.

Comment